If I were to be interviewed about my progress of the Historical Sew Monthly…

…it’d look something like this.

(Disclaimer: This is not an actual interview, just me interviewing myself in a slightly selfobsessed manner…)

So you will try another year of Historical Sewing Challenges?

Yes, I will. This year it will be just monthly challenges, which you can read more about on the Dreamstress‘ page. The monthly approach means I will try to get it to last all year and not let it slide when life gets hectic.

What can you tell us about the project you’re working on now?

Well, the challenge is Foundations, so I had thought to try making a pair of regency stays to finally start the regency wardrobe. Due to a very tight budget at the moment though, I can’t really justify buying things when I have things in my stash, so I have tried to alter a pattern of a leather 19th century livstycke to get it to work.

But a livstycke of the common women’s wardrobe isn’t used as a foundation garment, is it?

No, it’s not, meaning the historical accuracy is going downhill. In addition to the altered pattern, I’ve asked the almighty internet for help, finding interesting pages, for instance this one to get the fit right. This means that there will be an addition of gussets which are not a part of the original pattern. The original pattern is also overlapping, which is easily changed. However, I have realized that I have absolutely no ideas of what to use for cording, or how to get nice lacing holes, or how the shoulder straps should be. I’m getting a bit nervous, truth be told.

Nervous about the deadline?

Yes, at least in part. The deadline is January 31st, making it rather a hurried project since I’ve only cut out the pieces and started fastening the lining. Oh, and I haven’t really got enough fabric to get it properly layered…

You sound a bit unsure about this project?

Yes, the more I think about it, I realize that this might not be a challenge item, but rather a ”work-on-the-side-item”, to take away the time pressure. That should help the result being, although not historically accurate, at least better made.

So if you’re backing out already, how will it work for the rest of the year?

Oh, I’m not backing out! There are more than one way to interpret the word ”foundations” in historical clothing…

Do you have another plan?

Yes, I have. But before I tell you about it, I’ll have to go to my basement to see whether or not I have misplaced the things I need.

Can you give us a clue at least?

I have already given it, actually. There are many ways to look at the foundations…

This was fun, I’ll might do interviews with myself for more projects of the Historical Sew Monthly. Stay tuned and you will find out!

Lämna en kommentar

Filed under Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge

Kommentera

