HSF without buying patterns

After reading something about the prize for patterns, I realized that I haven’t made anything in the challenges of either 2014 or 2013 after a purchased pattern. And I’m not at all skilled at drafting my own patterns. In this day and age however, the fantastic internet is a wonderful thing for information, and then there are library books. My favourite thing is however the squares-rectangle-triangle-patterns. Now, as the end of the year draws near, and since I got so behind on most of the challenges of 2014, I will show the things I have done/finished because of the HSF the last two years. As you will see, there are many geometrical shape-patterns… For my musings and blabberings about the projects, and further links to the patterns, click on the images.

The starting simple fichu - here with a shirt from 2011

The starting simple fichu – here with a shirt from 2011 – pattern: a triangle

The 1313 possible hood with a pattern one of my teachers had drafted and let me trace it

The 1313 possible hood – a pattern one of my teachers had drafted and let me trace it

Tablet weaving UFO - own basic pattern

Tablet weaving UFO – own basic pattern

Pouch - my own improvised pattern

Twined knitted pouch – my own improvised pattern

Medieval cap - pattern: from internet blogs (and slightly modified)

Medieval cap – pattern from internet, mostly blogs (Birgittahätta, slightly modified)

Bronze Age shirt, back view. Made from one rectangular piece of fabric (with one rectangular piece cut off). Info from school and library books.

Bronze Age shirt, back view. Made from one rectangular piece of fabric (with one rectangular piece cut off). Pattern info from school and library books.

Shift aimed at regency period hanging on door. Pattern: Rectangles, triangles and squares.

Shift aimed at regency period hanging on door. Pattern: Rectangles, triangles and squares.

Shift aimed at medieval/viking period hanging on door. Pattern: Rectangles, triangles and squares.

Shift aimed at medieval/viking period hanging on door. Pattern: Rectangles, triangles and squares.

A flirtation with an 18th century jacket - pattern from internet (I changed the measurements a bit too much from the extant garment in this project...)

A flirtation with an 18th century jacket – pattern from internet (I changed the measurements a bit too much from the extant garment in this project)

Nålhus, directly translated to needlehouse, protecting the needles inside the bone. No actual pattern.

Nålhus, directly translated to needlehouse, protecting the needles inside the bone. No actual pattern.

Chemise à la reine - innovative (though not accurate) pattern with rectangles and squares.

Chemise à la reine – innovative (though not accurate) pattern with rectangles and squares.

Socks in needlebinded technique which can be worn inside out - or in. My own improvised pattern after my feet.

Socks in needlebinded technique which can be worn inside out – or in. My own improvised pattern after my feet.

Viking style apron dress. Pattern from a pfd online.

Viking style apron dress. Pattern from a pfd online.

A fairytale litte red viking hood - pattern: rectangle.

A fairytale litte red viking hood – pattern: a folded rectangle.

There we go. Would never have finished most (if not all) of them without the HSF challenges. But even though I didn’t use purchased patterns for any of the projects I’ve shown here, I hope to sew some more elaborate stuff in the future. For that I do need patterns. I have come to this conclusion through trials and errors. Mostly through errors.

Trial and error, error, error of the mocking regency mock-up.

Trial and error, error, error of the mocking regency mock-up/toile.

Lämna en kommentar

Filed under Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge

Kommentera

