Cheap non-PC tablet weaving tablets

Yes, I know. This blog is becoming ridiculously bilingual. But then again, so am I, and since this is my blog, I decide that it’s ok.

And since this is a post about my current project for Historical Sew Fortnightly, it’s better to keep all of these posts in English.

Now, to business:

My UFO for the UFO challenge will be a somewhat mystery. I found a tablet weaving project in my stash, the warp done, all set to go…. Except I don’t have any idea what pattern I had in mind when I started it, c. 2-2½ years ago. I also have no idea where my tablets for tablet weaving are. So, to make things easier on myself, I will start by making some new tablets. These are very cheap to make, and they work rather well. The only thing you should avoid with these is bringing them to an event. Why? They’re made out of a milk carton. If you want to make tablets and live in a country where milk comes in plastic bottles, you can use cereal boxes or something similar as well.

Milk carton becoming squares

Milk carton becoming squares

First, make sure the box of your choice is clean from any leftover food. Then cut up squares, they don’t have to be exactly the same size, but approximately square anyway. I started by 7.5 x 7.5 cm (approx), but I found that measurement too big to fit all of the sides in the carton (due to construction detail), so I made them approx 5.5 x 5.5 cm instead. It’s important to have the tablets flat and in one layer. Cut away any constructional details that are folded or glued double. The actual measurement of the tablets can vary, but you should be able to grip opposite sides of the tablet with your hand, so don’t make them bigger than that…

Rounding off edges

Rounding off edges

I prefer to have the edges rounded off. They don’t have to be perfectly symmetrical in my opinion, but roughly the same shape and size. Maybe I’ll be more concerned with the symmetry if I make tablets in another material or become amazingly talented at tablet-weaving. With my current level of skill and ambition, this will be fine.

Holepuncher - the cheap solution

Holepunch – the cheap solution

If you want your tablets to be symmetrical, I don’t recommend this next step. Instead I recommend to get a revolving hole puncher to be able to control where you make the holes in the tablets. Well, you make do with what you have, as long as it works! And my solution (pictured above) did work. But perfect symmetry wasn’t aspired.

It’s however advicable to not use the tablets that have holes too close to the edge. At least when it comes to carton tablets. If a tablet breaks during weaving, misery will follow.

Marked tablets

Marked tablets

I feel better when the holes are marked A-D. It makes it easier to keep track of the tablets, the plan, and the warp, and how they fit together.

I made 19 tablets altogether, of which 4 got a hole too close to the edge, so I aim to use 15 of them. I think it will be enough for the mystery tablet-weave UFO. If not, no worries, I’ll just make some new cheap non-PC tablets.

The mystery warp and the tablets

The mystery warp and the tablets

I haven’t done tablet-weaving in a long time. I really hope I remember the next step! Well, trial and error (and looking up instructions on the internet too, probably) is the way to go.

Lämna en kommentar

Filed under Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge

Kommentera

